The European Ryder Cup team has been announced and the Mole was pleased to see Edoardo Molinari managed to play his way into the team and thinks he and his brother could be a lethal combo.

Justin Rose and Paul Casey are the two big names that missed out when Montgomerie announced his three captain’s picks this evening.

Padraig Harrington, Luke Donald and Edoardo Molinari are the lucky three who will be joining the nine automatic qualifiers.

The fact that Molinari participated in and eventually won the Johnnie Walker Championship would’ve had a huge bearing on his selection.

Monty urged most of the European potentials to take part in the last counting event for the Ryder Cup, but most refused, choosing instead to chase the money available in America and the FedEx Cup.

What would have put Montgomerie off Molinari is the fact that there were already five other rookies in the Ryder Cup team in Rory McIlroy, Martin Kaymer, Ross Fisher, Francesco Molinari and Peter Hanson.

If Montgomerie decides to use the Molinaris together, and it would be incredibly stupid if he doesn’t, it will be first time brothers have played in the same Ryder Cup match since Bernhard and Geoff Hunt in 1963.

Harrington was probably the most obvious choice since he was the only three time Major winner amongst the captain’s pick hopefuls.

Unfortunately the Irishman hasn’t won a Ryder Cup point in six years, despite playing in both the 2006 and 2008 editions of the tournament, which would’ve played against him.

Luke Donald, in contrast, has a very nearly immaculate Ryder Cup record having won six out of seven games and a 100 percent record in the foursomes.

Who would you have picked?

The European Ryder Cup team

Lee Westwood
Rory McIlroy
Martin Kaymer
Graeme McDowell
Ian Poulter
Ross Fisher
Francesco Molinari
Miguel Angel Jimenez
Peter Hanson
Padraig Harrington
Luke Donald
Edoardo Molinari

Update: Reactions from Paul Casey, Justin Rose and Padraig Harrington about Colin Montgomerie’s selection.

Tournament Results:

Lee-Anne Pace won the Finnair Masters

Matt Kuchar won the Barclays in New York

Eduardo Molinari won the Johnnie Walker Championship